Journey of a self-taught

How to take the first step

I'm by no means an expert but, what I'm going to write here is my own journey as a developer (self-taught). Every developer has his own story but not everyone share's their story and I'm one of them who's sharing his story.

I finished my 12th grade and I was waiting for the result during that time all I did was just watch movies and work out. Big day came and I failed in one subject that I feared all my life (Maths).

My parents scolded me of course they did what any parents would do and I deserved it. I had a chance once again to go through the examination within few days. I worked hard to pass the exam and now I was again super easy on myself. My parents again started to make sure not to miss a day without reminding me I'm wasting my life.

Due to the pressure, I joined a local Bootcamp they were teaching the basics of WordPress (they said so) and it was a waste of time. Not that Bootstrap is bad or anything but they didn't teach much.

Course Ended the only thing that hurt was not learning anything and paying for nothing which became my motivation and now I wanted to learn (for real).

I started searching on the internet how to make apps and I got to know it's done with a language called programming language and I got to know you have to learn c++ first why? because that's what they teach in computer science during the first or second semester.

Journey

Found some really awesome c++ course by Thenewboston and learned it in few months I was completely into it and I lost myself in programming that's when I realized what I really wanted to do in my life.

Now I had a somewhat good understanding of programming and I knew you have to choose a path for web, mobile or desktop and I choose web of course.

Learned Javascript, HTML and CSS created a profile on Fiverr cause I didn't know much but I did know you can find work there and I started applying to jobs.

I still remember the first actual real-world project that I did and got paid with was a web app that could unscramble words and I didn't sleep well I didn't eat well I was focused and all I wanted to get done was this app I was working on and I made it.

Conclusion

It's been 3 years or more I've been programming professionally and I've worked on many different projects mostly in web app development but not limited to just web app development I love to work as a programmer and that's what I enjoy doing.

There have been many challenges during this journey there have been times I doubted myself I made my decision to quit the gig but the only thing that added to my success was just not to give up that is one simple rule if any of you want to be a professional developer is just start learning and keep learning and no matter what happens DO NOT GIVE UP .

The only limit is going to be time and tech that isn't around yet other than that take a project work on it if you are stuck don't give up and you'll make it soon.

Bye!

Alright, this was my journey simplified if you have anything to say message me on Twitter or email me or share this on Twitter so anyone starting might get some help from it who knows we might work on something really cool in the future (to you whoever is reading this ).